SEAT Vegas 2016

Business Directory

Browse the Directory

Sign Up to the Directory

FC Business Twitter
FC business Linked in
FC Business facebook
FC Business Youtube

Football League To Celebrate 125th Anniversary

Thu 28th Feb 2013 | Club & Country Competitions

The Football League, the world’s original league football competition, is to celebrate its 125th anniversary during 2013. 

The anniversary period will begin this Saturday (March 2) which marks 125 years since League founder, William McGregor, sent his letter to clubs suggesting “that ten or twelve of the most prominent clubs in England combine to arrange home-and-away fixtures each season.” 

McGregor’s letter was the catalyst for the beginning of league football, which 125 years later still dominates the sporting landscape in countries throughout the world. 

The Football League will celebrate its 125th anniversary with its clubs and their supporters at the beginning of the 2013/14 season and its Head of Communications, John Nagle, said:  "The McGregor letter is the start of Saturday at 3pm as we know it today, it’s the point at which professional football decides it has to get organised or be strangled at birth. 

"You only have to look through fixture lists from the previous season to see the problem clubs faced.  Fixtures were sporadic with clubs sometimes going weeks between matches when they needed the certainty, as they still do today, of regular matches and regular income. 

"Looking back now it may seem such an obvious thing to do, but you have to remember it had been 25 years since the formation of the FA and yet nobody else had come up with anything as visionary.  McGregor’s idea perfectly met the needs of clubs and the paying public, whilst being utterly simple in its inception.

“The fact that 125 years later The Football League continues to thrive and that league football has become a sporting phenomenon across the globe is the greatest possible tribute to McGregor's foresight.” 

Three weeks after McGregor sent his letter (March 22) clubs met at Anderton’s Hotel on Fleet Street in London to discuss McGregor’s idea.  This was followed by a further meeting on April 17 at the Royal Hotel, Manchester at which the name The Football League was agreed (despite McGregor’s preference for the word ‘union’ to be used instead).

The first season of The Football League kicked-off on 8th September 1888 with McGregor as its first Chairman.  The 12 founder members of The Football League were Accrington, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Burnley, Derby County, Everton, Notts County, Preston North End, Stoke, West Bromwich Albion, and Wolverhampton Wanderers.  The first champions were Preston’s ‘invincibles’ who won 18 and drew 4 of their 22 league matches.

The next issue of fcbusiness Magazine will feature an interview with the Football League’s Chief Commercial Officer, Richard Heaselgrave. Due out Monday 4th March.

Posted by: Aaron Gourley

Subscribe to our newsletter




If you have any football business related news stories you’d like to share then please contact us –

Add to: Google Google | Yahoo Yahoo | Live Live | del.icio | Digg Digg |

Related Articles

Football League crowds rise by 600,000

Fri 22nd May 2015 | Club & Country Competitions

The number of people watching matches in the Sky Bet Football League increased by 615,685 during the 2014/15 season, a four per cent increase on the previous year. It is the 12th consecutive season...

Manchester United to defend title in the International Champions Cup

Thu 16th Apr 2015 | Club & Country Competitions

Manchester United will be returning to the United States this summer for the second consecutive year for Tour 2015, 65 years after the club first visited the US. The tour will again see the team...

Record-breaking FA Cup attendance figures revealed

Thu 5th Feb 2015 | Club & Country Competitions

As the FA Cup Fourth Round concluded with Liverpool's win at Bolton Wanderers, record attendance figures have been revealed. More than half a million people passed through the turnstiles to watch Cup...

UEFA to Name Euro 2020 Host Cities in September

Fri 15th Aug 2014 | Club & Country Competitions

The UEFA Executive Committee will select the 13 host associations for UEFA EURO 2020 on Friday 19 September 2014. The decision to stage a "EURO for Europe" in various major cities throughout the...