Business Directory

Browse the Directory

Sign Up to the Directory

FC Business Twitter
FC business Linked in
FC Business facebook
FC Business Youtube

Asian Football Awards Success

Wed 9th Oct 2013 | Football Industry Events

The second annual Asian Football Awards took place last night to celebrate the efforts of those both playing and working in the industry.

In a glitzy awards dinner at Wembley Stadium Neil Taylor, the Swansea City and Wales left-back, walked away with the Player of the Year award with Adil Nabi of West Bromwich Albion taking the Young Player of the Year award.  

Hosted by BBC Asian Network presenter Noreen Khan and Sky Sports News presenter Dharmesh Sheth there were sixteen award categories in all highlighting the work on and off the pitch by UK Asians.

Picking up the fcbusiness magazine Media Award was Amar Singh, digital sports editor of the London Evening Standard for his outstanding work in the field of sports journalism.

Adu Nasir picked up the award for his role at Liverpool Football Club whilst Dr Shabaaz Mughal, Tottenham Hotspur’s club Doctor who helped to save the life of Fabrice Muamba following his collapse at White Hart Lane, received the Behind the Scenes Award for Medical Staff.  

Attending the ceremony and presenting the Media Award was fcbusiness’ Head of Partnerships, Yal Bekar. He said after the awards, “It’s an honour to be associated with these awards. There are many great people up and down the country that help make football what it is today.

“These awards celebrate those that have gone the extra mile and are an inspiration to all UK Asians.”

The awards were attended by nearly 700 guests with former England players Gary Lineker and Ray Parlour amongst those in attendance.

Full list of winners and nominees below

PLAYER (sponsored by Goals Soccer Centres).
Winner: Neil Taylor (Swansea City FC & Wales); Also nominated: Danny Batth (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Michael Chopra (Blackpool FC). 

NON-LEAGUE PLAYER (sponsored by Inventive Sports).
Winner: Jasbir Singh (Solihull Moors FC); Adnan Ahmad (Droylsden FC), Netan Sansara (Boston United FC), Jey Siva (Wealdstone FC), Aman Verma (Stockport County FC).

AFA TOURNAMENT (sponsored by BritAsia TV).
Winners: West One Ballers; Runners-up: Bacca FC


Winner: Abu Nasir (Liverpool FC); Also nominated: Naz Ali (Accrington Stanley FC), Harj Hir (Leicester City FC), Samir Singh (Arsenal FC)

MEDIA (sponsored by fc business magazine).
Winner: Amar Singh (Evening Standard); Also nominated: Ravit Anand (Football Exclusives – non-League), Bobbie Chahal (Soccer AM - Sky Sports), Jason Mohammad (BBC Sports), Reshmin Chowdhury (BBC Sports). 

SOUTH-EAST ASIAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Korea Foods).
Winner: Kim Bo-Kyung (Cardiff City FC & South Korea); Also nominated: Shinji Kagawa (Manchester United FC & Japan), Ki Sung-Yueng (Swansea City FC & South Korea) 

WOMAN IN FOOTBALL (sponsored by Anthony Nolan Trust).
Winner: Manisha Tailor (Coach / Brentford FC scout & Rachel Yankey Football Programme); Also nominated: Ayesha Abdeen (Muslim Women’s Sport Foundation), Mehrun Ahmed (Football Unites Racism Divides), Samana Fazel (All Sports Women), Saddiqa Shan (Coventry University) 

COACH (sponsored by Currencies 4 You).
Winner: Bal Singh (Khalsa Football Academy, Bedfordshire); Also nominated: Judan Ali (Head of Elite Development - Chinese Taipei), Rehan Mirza (Pro-10 Soccer Academy, Nottinghamshire), Pav Singh (Leeds United FC), Kam Uppal (West Bromwich Albion FC)

ASIAN TEAM (sponsored by Getty Images).
Winner: Mahal FC (Birmingham); Also nominated: Albion Sports FC (Bradford), FC Leytonstone (east London), Indian Gymkhana FC (SSH) (west London), Khalsa Football Academy (Bedfordshire), Punjab United Wolves (Wolverhampton), Sporting Bengal United; (Mile End, east London), Sporting Khalsa (West Midlands).

UP & COMING PLAYER (sponsored by Pinder Reaux Solicitors).
Winner: Yan Dhanda (Liverpool FC); Also nominated: Dylan Lall (Brighton & Hove Albion FC), Samir Nabi (West Bromwich Albion FC).

INSPIRATION (sponsored B4U Network).
Winner: Irfan Kawri (Wigan Athletic FC scout / coach / mentor); Also nominated: Sab Bham (Salaam Peace, east London), Kashif Siddiqi (Northampton Town FC / KSF Foundation, west London), Akeel Tahir (Manchester United Deaf Team), Punjabi Wolves (Wolverhampton).

YOUNG PLAYER (sponsored by Sky Ex).
Winner: Adil Nabi (West Bromwich Albion FC); Also nominated: Malvind Benning (Walsall FC), Jhai Dhillon (Stevenage FC), Josh Shama (Oxford United FC)

UNSUNG HERO (sponsored by Shampan Group and Shampan Foundation).
Winner: Butch Fazal (Chair National Asians in Football Forum); Also nominated: Mesba Ahmad (London Tigers), Resham Basra (Managed Guru Nanak Gurdwara team in Bedford), Mohammed Shahnawaz (Founder of Pakistan International 11 / FootballPakistan.com), Abdal Ullah (President
Stepney FC, east London / founder of Safer Neighbourhood Tournament / councillor)

BEHIND THE SCENES – MEDICAL (sponsored by Majestic Health).
Winner: Shabaaz Mughal (Tottenham Hotspur FC); Also nominated: Imran Alam (Clyde FC), Zaf Iqbal (Liverpool FC), Sangi Patel (Queens Park Rangers FC).

DEVELOPMENT PROJECT (sponsored by borro).
Winner: Salaam Peace (east London); Also nominated: Chelsea Asian Star, Khalsa Football Federation, Muslim Women’s Sport Foundation, Sport Esprit Academy.

Winner: Harmeet Singh (Feyenoord FC & Norway)

Image: Amar Singh  (via Getty Images)

 Posted by: Aaron Gourley


To subscribe to our range of football newsletters including news, products and jobs CLICK HERE.




If you have any football business related news stories you’d like to share then please contact us – agourley@fcbusiness.co.uk

Add to: Google Google | Yahoo Yahoo | Live Live | del.icio.us del.icio | Digg Digg |

Related Articles

Host City 2017 Brings High Impact Events To Scotland

Fri 18th Aug 2017 | Football Industry Events

Paul Bush OBE, Director of Events at EventScotland, part of VisitScotland’s Events Directorate, looks ahead to an exciting conference programme at Host City 2017, bringing major event...

Robert Elstone And Paul Barber To Talk Club Brand Values At Soccerex

Wed 16th Aug 2017 | Football Industry Events

Robert Elstone, CEO of Everton FC and Paul Barber, CEO of Brighton and Hove will be joining the discussion on ‘Maximising your clubs brand values’ at the Soccerex Global Convention, 4-6...

World Football Summit Presents the First Congress on Women’s Football

Wed 26th Jul 2017 | Football Industry Events

World Football Summit presents, within its initiatives, a day dedicated exclusively to women's football to be held on September 12 th in Madrid which will feature an attractive program and first class...

Sir Craig Reedie: Host City Brings Cities And Events Closer

Mon 10th Jul 2017 | Football Industry Events

Sir Craig Reedie CBE highlights how Host City 2017 enables event owners and hosts to work together, with Host City Asia presenting fresh opportunities. The owners, organisers and hosts of major events...