Business Directory

Browse the Directory

Sign Up to the Directory

FC Business Twitter
FC business Linked in
FC Business facebook
FC Business Youtube

Football CEO of the Year Finalists Announced

Mon 10th Oct 2016 | Football Club Management

The finalists for the fcbusiness CEO of the Year sponsored by Masters in Sport Directorship at the Football Business Awards have been announced.

The finalists for this year’s award are Ian Ayre (Liverpool), Dean Hoyle (Huddersfield Town), Steve Curwood (Fleetwood Town), Mark Catlin (Portsmouth) and Ann Budge (Heart of Midlothian)

The CEO* from each league has been nominated in a vote by the readers of fcbusiness before then being shortlisted for the overall CEO of the Year prize.

Each winner will receive the award for their respective league at a glitzy awards ceremony on 3rd November at Arsenal Football Club’s Emirates Stadium before the overall winner is announced on the night.

fcbusiness Editor and Football Business Awards judge, Aaron Gourley, said: “The award for CEO of the Year is one of the most prized in football. Each of the finalists is there because their hard work and dedication has been recognised by the readers of fcbusiness and their peers.

“The Football Business Awards are a fantastic way of recognising the efforts of everyone involved in the beautiful game and I’m sure, as each of our CEOs would testify, they would not be in line for an award without them.”

The overall winner will join an illustrious list of CEOs that have picked up the award from Karren Brady (2012), Paul Barber (2013) Sam Rush (2014) and Huw Jenkins (Swansea City). Divisional winners have included, amongst others, Russ Green (Hartlepool United), Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal), Tony Scholes (Stoke City) and Steve Brown (St Johnstone).

Sponsor of the CEO of the Year award, VSI Masters in Sport Directorship’s founder, Tony Faulkner, commented: “"It’s an honour for VSI, whom have a passion in developing tomorrow’s leaders in sport through the Masters in Sport Directorship course to be awarding CEO’s from across our national game for their professional and committed work to their clubs and the wider football industry.”

Over 500 senior managers and decision makers from the football industry will attend, making the awards the perfect networking opportunity in the football calendar. 

Rory Ross Russell, Co-Founder of the Football Business Awards, said: "The quality and quantity of the entries keeps on going up and up. The continued enthusiasm within the sector for these awards is fantastic as it highlights just how highly valued they are.

"Business has such a vital role to play in football and a role which often goes unseen within the game’s wider community.

“We aim to give this inspirational work the valuable market badge it deserves and by doing this and providing an unsurpassed opportunity to network, we believe everyone will enjoy and benefit from November’s ceremony."

To see the full shortlist, please visit http://footballbusinessawards.com/finalists/

Table sales are open for those interested in attending the event. For more information on individual places or group bookings, please visit http://footballbusinessawards.com/booking-information/


CEO of the Year Finalists:

Premier League CEO of the Year – Ian Ayre, Liverpool FC

Championship CEO of the Year – Dean Hoyle, Huddersfield Town FC

League One CEO of the Year – Steve Curwood, Fleetwood Town FC

League Two CEO of the Year – Mark Catlin, Portsmouth FC

SPFL CEO of the Year – Ann Budge, Heart of Midlothian FC

fcbusiness CEO of the Year Award (Overall) – To Be Announced on the Night


Picture: CEO of the Year winner in 2015. (L to R) Ray Stubbs (Host), Leigh Dineen (collecting award on behalf of Huw Jenkins, Swansea City), Peter Joyce (TopTix) Aaron Gourley (fcbusiness), Mark Lawrenson (Host)

*Where there is no CEO at the club the position is defined as someone who fulfills the role such as a Managing Director or Chairman.

Posted by: Aaron Gourley 

Tripleplay 468 banner V2 (468x60_Animated_v2.gif)
If you have any football business related news stories you’d like to share then please contact us – agourley@fcbusiness.co.uk

To subscribe to our range of football newsletters including news, products and jobs CLICK HERE.

Add to: Google Google | Yahoo Yahoo | Live Live | del.icio.us del.icio | Digg Digg |

Related Articles

Leeds United Appoint Former Real Madrid Executive Ivan Bravo

Tue 25th Apr 2017 | Football Club Management

Leeds United has appointed Ivan Bravo to the Club’s Board of Directors with immediate effect. The former Director of Strategy at Real Madrid, leading on both the sport and business fronts at the...

Is United's Off-Field Success Contributing To Their Struggles?

Mon 24th Apr 2017 | Football Club Management

If you look at Manchester United's recent history, there is a clear distinction between the club's on and off-field performance . More specifically, while the club has struggled to achieve success on...

Ugo Ehiogu Dies Following Cardiac Arrest

Fri 21st Apr 2017 | Football Club Management

Tottenham Hotspur Under 23 coach and former Aston Villa and Middlesbrough defender Ugo Ehiogu has died following a cardiac arrest. Ugo collapsed at Spurs’ training ground on Thursday and was...

Club Trained Players Hits All Time Low In Premier League

Thu 13th Apr 2017 | Football Club Management

The number of minutes played by club-trained players in the Premier League has hit an all-time low according new research. The study by CIES Observatory focuses on the demographic evolution of the...