Business Directory

Browse the Directory

Sign Up to the Directory

FC Business Twitter
FC business Linked in
FC Business facebook
FC Business Youtube

Portsmouth’s Mark Catlin Wins CEO Of The Year

Fri 4th Nov 2016 | Football Industry Events

Portsmouth Football Club CEO, Mark Catlin was the big winner at last night’s Football Business Awards.

The League Two club’s CEO beat off competition from Liverpool FC’s Ian Ayre, Dean Hoyle from Huddersfield Town, Steve Curwood of Fleetwood Town and Ann Budge from Heart of Midlothian to take the overall prize.

Held at Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium on Thursday evening, the Football Business Awards celebrate and reward the achievements of those working at football clubs across the UK. 

The fcbusiness CEO of the Year presented by VSI – Masters in Sport Directorship is one of the most prestigious of the evening which also included the inaugural NuCalm European CEO of the Year which was won by Atletico Madrid’s Miguel Ángel Gil Marín.

Amongst the other awards presented on the night was Best Marketing Initiative (Premier League) which was won by Everton FC, whilst Brighton & Hove Albion picked up the award for Best Marketing Initiative (non-Premier League).

Everton were double winners on the night also scooping the prize for Best Fan Engagement by a Club.

Despite having a tough time on the pitch, off it, Sunderland’s ground-breaking sensory room for people with sensory impairments was recognised with the award for Best Corporate Social Responsibility Scheme.

Prostate Cancer UK and the LMA won Best Sponsorship/Partnership of the Year whilst Cardiff City won the award for Best Matchday Experience.

The ceremony was attended by over 500 football executives from across the UK.

Speaking of the awards, fcbusiness editor and Football Business Awards judge, Aaron Gourley, said: “The awards were fantastic tonight and I’d like to extend my congratulations to Mark Catlin, and to all of our CEOs who won awards. 

“Mark Catlin was the overwhelming choice of our readers having helped put Portsmouth back on an even keel after a turbulent few years for the club. He is also our first CEO from League Two to win the overall prize.

“The Football Business Awards are rightly regarded as one of the best awards ceremonies in football and all of the clubs and businesses competing for prizes showed outstanding work which made the judging process very difficult but highly rewarding.”

Full list of winners below:

Premier League CEO of the Year sponsored by VSI

Ian Ayre, Liverpool FC

Championship CEO of the Year sponsored by VSI

Dean Hoyle, Huddersfield Town FC

League One CEO of the Year sponsored by VSI

Steve Curwood, Fleetwood Town FC

League Two CEO of the Year sponsored by VSI

Mark Catlin, Portsmouth FC

SPFL CEO of the Year  sponsored by VSI

Ann Budge, Heart of Midlothian FC

Global Football Ambassador

Jimmy Armfield

Best Business Serving Football – up to £2m turnover


Best Business Serving Football – over £2m turnover


Best Club Marketing Initiative – Premier League

Everton FC

Best Club Marketing Initiative – non Premier League

Brighton & Hove Albion FC

Best Football Club Hospitality

Manchester City FC

Best / Most Innovative use of Technology (non club specific)

Kick It Out

Best / Most Innovative use of Technology by a Club

Middlesbrough FC – adi.tv & Eleven Sports Media

Best Football Community Scheme – Premier League

Arsenal FC - The Arsenal Foundation

Best Football Community Scheme – non Premier League

Albion in the Community (Brighton & Hove Albion FC)

Best Corporate Social Responsibility Scheme

Sunderland AFC

Best Match Day Experience

Cardiff City FC

Best Non-Match Day Use of Venue

The SPFL Trust – Various across the UK

Best Professional Service Business Serving Football


Agency of the Year

Seven League

Best Fan Engagement by a Club

Everton FC

Sponsorship Deal / Partnership of the Year

Prostate Cancer UK / League Managers Association

Best Brand Activation Involving Football

BT Sport / UEFA Champions League

NuCalm/fcbusiness European Football CEO 2016

Miguel Ángel Gil Marín, Atlético de Madrid

fcbusiness CEO of the Year Award (Overall)

Mark Catlin, Portsmouth FC


Posted by: Aaron Gourley 

Tripleplay 468 banner V2 (468x60_Animated_v2.gif)
If you have any football business related news stories you’d like to share then please contact us – agourley@fcbusiness.co.uk

To subscribe to our range of football newsletters including news, products and jobs CLICK HERE.

Add to: Google Google | Yahoo Yahoo | Live Live | del.icio.us del.icio | Digg Digg |

Related Articles

Arsenal Hosts Medical Conference

Thu 23rd Mar 2017 | Football Industry Events

Arsenal’s medical team hosted its annual medical conference at the Emirates Stadium on Monday. Now in its seventh year, the event brings together medical practitioners from across sport, to pool...

Football Academies: A Key Asset Football Clubs Have at Their Fingertips

Thu 16th Mar 2017 | Football Industry Events

One of football clubs' most valuable and strategic assets are their football academies. This area of a club not only represents its values and history, but can also be the keystone for sustainable...

ATPI Sports Events & Air Partner return to Premier Sports Network for 2017

Thu 16th Mar 2017 | Football Industry Events

Leading global Travel Management Company ATPI Sports Events and aircraft charter company Air Partner have both renewed their partnerships with Premier Sports Network, the events and intelligence...

Edwin Van Der Sar To Share Club Brand Values At Soccerex

Thu 9th Mar 2017 | Football Industry Events

Former Ajax, Manchester United, and Dutch national goalkeeper, Edwin Van Der Sar will be speaking at the Soccerex Global Convention, 4-6 September, Manchester. Van Der Sar will be part of a panel of...