Tottenham Hotspur Becomes Founding Signatory Of Football Leadership Diversity Code

Tottenham Hotspur has become a founding signatory of the Football Leadership Diversity Code, launched today by The FA to drive diversity and inclusion across English football.


The North London club are one of over 40 across the Premier League, English Football League, Barclays FA Women’s Super League and FA Women’s Championship committing to tackle inequality across senior leadership positions, broader team operations and coaching roles.


The Code has been developed by The FA in collaboration with club executives, players, coaches, HR directors, media and leaders across the game aims to ensure English football better represents the modern and diverse society of the UK.


Recognising that clubs and support structures off the pitch do not reflect the increasing gender and ethnic diversity seen on the pitch, it will increase accountability and transparency and will see The FA, key stakeholders and clubs across the men’s and women’s game commit to embedding greater diversity across senior leadership teams, team operations and coaching setups.


The Code focuses on increasing equality of opportunity with hiring targets – rather than quotas – to encourage recruitment from across society. Hiring will be based on merit, to find the best person for the job from diverse talent pipelines.


The aim is to move away from recruitment practices focused on personal networks, which is a longstanding challenge across football and has limited the diversity in leadership across the game.



Daniel Levy, Chairman, Tottenham Hotspur, said: “Signing up to the Football Leadership Diversity Code is an important and timely next step in the Club’s ongoing commitment to championing diversity across everything we do.


“We believe the Code will, once and for all, raise the visibility of diversity and inclusion across the game and ensure clubs are truly representative of the communities in which we are embedded.”


Paul Elliott, Chair of The FA’s Inclusion Advisory Board, added: “Many clubs are already doing good work in this area and we have been pleased to see football stand together this year to challenge the injustice we are seeing in society.


“However, positive and tangible action is required to drive change and take the next step. We believe the introduction of the Football Leadership Diversity Code will signal a long-term change for the English game.


“The number and stature of clubs that have already agreed to join us on this journey proves that together, with clear goals, transparency and a desire for action, we can shape a better future together. We hope more clubs join us as we move forward.”


By signing up to the Football Leadership Diversity Code, clubs pledge to create an equality, diversity and inclusion plan which applies hiring targets while adopting specific recruitment principles.


The targets, which will become effective immediately, include:

• 15% of new hires will be Black, Asian or of Mixed-Heritage [or a target set by the club based on local demographics].
• 30% of new hires will be female.


• 25% of new hires will be Black, Asian or of Mixed-Heritage.
• 10% of new senior coaching hires will be Black, Asian or of Mixed-Heritage.


• 50% of new hires will be female.
• 15% of new hires will be Black, Asian or of Mixed-Heritage.


• Shortlists for interview will have at least one male and one female Black, Asian or of Mixed-Heritage candidate, if applicants meeting the job specifications apply.


Clubs (where applicable, this includes both the professional men’s and women’s structure for each club) that will adopt the Code as founding signatories are listed below:-

• Arsenal
• Aston Villa
• Blackburn Rovers
• Bolton Wanderers
• Brighton & Hove Albion
• Brentford
• Burnley
• Burton Albion
• Cambridge United
• Chelsea
• Coventry City
• Coventry United
• Crystal Palace
• Derby County
• Durham Women
• England
• Everton
• Fleetwood Town
• Fulham
• Leeds United
• Leicester City
• Lewes
• Lincoln City
• Liverpool
• Manchester City
• Manchester United
• Newcastle United
• Norwich City
• Nottingham Forest
• Oxford United
• Plymouth Argyle
• Portsmouth
• Queens Park Rangers
• Sheffield United
• Stoke City
• Swansea City
• Tottenham Hotspur
• Watford
• West Ham United
• West Bromwich Albion
• Wolverhampton Wanderers


Image: The FA