Football Supporters Association Celebrates The Best In Football

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place in London on Monday night.



With almost 400,000 votes cast, the FSA Awards are the largest supporter-led awards in the UK and Salah topped the fans’ vote, holding off competition from Chelsea’s Mason Mount, Man City pair Phil Foden and Rúben Dias, West Ham United’s Michail Antonio and Leicester City’s Youri Tielemans. Salah is the fourth Liverpool player to scoop the award in 11 years and the first to win our Men’s Player of the Year award on two occasions. Previous winners of the FSA Men’s Player of the Year include Bruno Fernandes, Virigl van Dijk and Harry Kane.


Accepting his award, Mohamed Salah, said: “I’m honoured to be the first player to win this award twice. I would like to thank the organisers and all the football fans who voted for me.”


Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Association, said: “There’s no doubt Mohamed is having another incredible year, the number and quality of his goals have once again lit up English football and contributed to Liverpool’s title push.


“As well as his on-field ability, Mohamed’s character has won support from fans across the game and he was a clear favourite among the voting public.”


Alex Scott picked up the trophy for Pundit of the Year for the first time – becoming the first woman to win the award – beating previous winners Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville.


The Women’s Player of the Award, presented by SheKicks Editor, Jen O’Neill, was won by Arsenal’s Vivienne Miedema. This is the third year in a row that the Dutch forward has won the popular vote in the Women’s Player of the Year category. Miedema saw off competition from Chelsea pair Fran Kirby and Sam Kerr, Ellen White, Ella Toone and Kim Little.


In total 10 categories were open to a public vote, including the player and pundit categories, while four awards (Club Podcast, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year) were decided by an FSA panel.


The winners of the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware:


Men’s Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)


Women’s Player of the Year:

Vivienne Miedema (Arsenal)


Fan Media of the Year:



Club Podcast of the Year:

It’s All Cobblers To Me


Commentator of the Year:

Peter Drury


Fans for Diversity Award:

Punjabi Rams


Fanzine of the Year:

A Love Supreme


Newspaper of the Year:

The Guardian


Online Media of the Year:

The Athletic


Podcast of the Year:

The Guardian Football Weekly


Pundit of the Year:

Alex Scott


Radio Show of the Year:

The Warm-Up WIth Max Rushden


Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year:

Shona Groves (Millwall)


Writer of the Year:

Jonathan Wilson


Subscribe to the range of fcbusiness newsletters




* indicates required field
General Football Industry Newsletters



Newsletters from fcbusiness



Baltic Publications Limited will use the information you provide on this form to send you the content you have selected above to your email address. Please tick the box below to grant your permission for this:



You are in control. You can unsubscribe or change your preferences at any time by clicking the on the relevant links in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. Your information will not be shared, rented or sold to any third party. For more information about our privacy policy please visit By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.


We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.