Finalists Announced For Northwest Football Player Awards

Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk, Manchester City’s Bernardo Silva  and Manchester United’s left back Luke Shaw make up the Premier League Player of the Season finalists’ category, at this year’s Northwest Football Awards.



The finalists for the player categories at this year’s Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) have been revealed.


Liverpool fan favourite Virgil Van Dijk and Manchester City midfielder Bernardo Silva, will go up against Manchester United’s Luke Shaw for the coveted Premier League Player of the Season Award.


This year’s awards will again be held at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday 11 November – with the finalists in nine categories being announced following votes cast from fans across the world.


This season’s Women’s Player of the Season accolade returns with Fylde Ladies’ Laura Merrin making the shortlist alongside Manchester United’s Katie Zelem and Manchester City’s Steph Houghton, with Liverpool’s Sophie-Bradley Auckland and Everton’s Simone Magill also in the running.


The Women’s Rising Star of the Season award returns this year – and finalists include Burnley FC’s Evie Priestley, Liverpool midfielder Amy Rodgers, Manchester City’s Georgia Stanway and Fylde’s Georgia Stevens.


In the Championship category for the 2018/19 season, Blackburn Rovers’ Danny Graham goes up against Bolton Wanderers’ Gary O’Neil. They will battle it out against Preston North End’s Ben Davies and Wigan Athletic’s Reece James for this year’s Ladbrokes NWFA Championship Player of the Season.


The Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards League One Player of the Season Award finalists include Rochdale’s Ian Henderson who will take on Fleetwood Town’s Wes Burns. Curtis Tilt of Blackpool FC and Accrington Stanley’s Sean McConville are also in contention for the accolade.


League Two Player of the Season will either go to Luke Conlan of Morecambe, Fiacre Kelleher of Macclesfield Town, Oldham Athletic’s Callum Lang or Scott Davies of Tranmere Rovers.


Danny Rowe of AFC Fylde will go head-to-head with Salford City’s Carl Piergianni for National League Player of the Season.


The Goal of the Season shortlist will be revealed on Monday, 4th November and voting will open the same day.


Laura Wolfe, of Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards, said: “The competition has been incredibly tough this year with a record number of votes. We are absolutely delighted to announce this year’s finalists. All those who were nominated should be proud to have made it to this stage with such a wide array of talent coming out of the region during the 2018-2019 football season.”


Further awards for Manager of the Season and the Lifetime Achievement accolade will be announced at the Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards on 11th November 2019.


For more information please visit –


A full List of Player Categories:


Premier League Player of the Season

Liverpool Football Club – Virgil van Dijk

Manchester City Football Club – Bernardo Silva

Manchester United Football Club – Luke Shaw


Championship Player of the Season

Blackburn Rovers Football Club – Danny Graham

Bolton Wanderers Football Club – Gary O’Neil

Preston North End Football Club – Ben Davies

Wigan Athletic Football Club- Reece James


League One Player of the Season

Accrington Stanley Football Club – Sean McConville

Blackpool Football Club – Curtis Tilt

Fleetwood Town Football Club – Wes Burns

Rochdale Town Football Club – Ian Henderson


League Two Player of the Season

Morecambe Football Club – Luke Conlan

Macclesfield Town Football Club – Fiacre Kelleher

Oldham Athletic Football Club – Callum Lang

Tranmere Rovers Football Club – Scott Davies


The National League Player of the Season

AFC Fylde Football Club – Danny Rowe

Salford City Football Club – Carl Piergianni


Rising Star

Bolton Wanderers Football Club – Harry Brockbank

Burnley Football Club – Dwight McNeil

Liverpool Football Club – Trent Alexander-Arnold

Manchester United Football Club -Mason Greenwood

Rochdale Football Club – Luke Matheson

Wigan Athletic Football Club – Reece James


Women’s Player of the Season

Everton Women – Simone Magill

Fylde Ladies – Laura Merrin

Liverpool FC Women – Sophie Bradley-Auckland

Manchester City Women’s FC – Steph Houghton

Manchester United Women’s FC – Katie Zelem


Women’s Rising Star

Burnley FC Women – Evie Priestley

Fylde Ladies – Georgia Stevens

Liverpool FC Women – Amy Rodgers

Manchester City Women’s FC – Georgia Stanway


Fan Media Channel

Full Time Devils

Man City Superbia

Rovers Rear Guard

The Pie at Night

The Redmen TV