First Set of Finalists Announced For Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards

The Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards Judging Panel met last week and had the difficult task of picking the finalists in the non-player of the year categories for this year’s awards.



Now in its 14th year, the winners of the Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) 2021 will be announced on Monday, 22nd November 2021 at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford, at a Gala Awards’ Ceremony hosted by broadcaster, Dan Walker, where the Northwest region’s footballing elite will gather, paying tribute to those from both on and off the pitch, who have excelled in the 2020/21 season. 


The Ladbrokes NWFA is honoured to support the Darby Rimmer Foundation and the Offside Trust – both important causes close to the region’s heart.


Laura Wolfe of the Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards, said: “We received a record number of entries this year.  The quality of submissions from the clubs and organisations was so impressive and the panel had some seriously healthy debate over the course of the judging process. 


“It looks like we will have a brilliant night when the winners are announced on Monday, 22nd November, at the Awards’ Dinner, hosted by broadcaster, Dan Walker  – assuming he hasn’t danced his way to the Strictly Come Dancing Final by then!”  


Fans can cast their votes now at


Full list of Finalists Below


Community Initiative of the Season (in association with the PFA):

Remember the Rovers – Blackburn Rovers Community Trust

Schools’ Mental Wellbeing Project – Burnley FC in the Community

City Thrive – City in the Community

Blue Family – Everton Football Club

LFC Foundation Community Wellbeing Hubs – Liverpool FC Foundation


Community Club of the Season –  All other Leagues (in association with the PFA):

Blackburn Rovers Community Trust

Blackpool FC Community Trust

Bolton Wanderers in the Community

Preston North End Community and Education Trust

Tranmere Rovers Football Club

Wigan Athletic Community Trust


Community Club of the Season – Premier League (in association with the PFA):

Burnley FC in the Community

City in the Community

Everton in the Community

Liverpool FC Foundation

Manchester United Foundation


Kick It Out Promoting Inclusion Award:


Everton Football Club

Foundation 92 – One Community For All

Preston North End Community and Education Trust – Together As One Anti-Racism Education Programme



Bootle Bucks Inclusion FC

Creative Football

Liverpool County FA – World in One City


Business and Professional Services to Football:

Brabners LLP

Saffrey Champness

Urban Zoo – Gamechanger


Best Club Marketing, Sponsorship or Engagement Campaign:

Manchester United – ILOVEUNITED

Preston North End – ‘It’s Time to Come Home’ Season Card Campaign

Tranmere Rovers Football Club – Designed for you, by you!


Northwest Football Journalist or Broadcaster of the Season:

Carl Anka – The Athletic UK

James Ducker – Daily & Sunday Telegraph

Sam Matterface – talkSPORT

Caoimhe O’Neill – The Athletic UK

David Ornstein – The Athletic UK

Daniel Taylor – The Athletic UK


Unsung Hero:

Paul Hession

Mark Randles

James Tagg


Manager of the Season:

Derek Adams – Morecambe FC

Neil Critchley – Blackpool FC

Ian Evatt – Bolton Wanderers

Pep Guardiola – Manchester City

Liam Richardson – Wigan Athletic


To be announced on the night:

Fan Media, Channel or Podcast of the Season

Moment of the Season

The Billy Seymour Impact Award

Lifetime Contribultion to Northwest Football


Categories open to the public vote: (open until 15th October):

The Athletic Rising Star

The Athletic Women’s Rising Star

Player of the Season – National League

Player of the Season – League Two

Player of the Season – League One

Player of the Season – Championship

Player of the Season – Premier League

Women’s Player of the Season