Kate Tinsley has been nominated to join The Football Association Board and The FA Council as an Independent Non-Executive Director.


Kate is currently the Chief Executive Officer of The Buildbase Group, a division of Grafton Group PLC with management responsibility in both the UK and Belgium. Prior to this Kate has served in senior finance roles at Saint Gobain, BSS PLC and Grafton Group PLC before moving into general management.


As an FA qualified coach Kate is passionate about football and motivated by her desire to ensure that football is For All. This includes making sure that there are equal opportunities for people of all ages and backgrounds to play and enjoy football at all levels of the game.


Kate was recommended by the Nominations Committee, which was unanimously approved by the Board. The FA Council will be asked to endorse Kate’s appointment at its meeting on 26 October 2017. If appointed, Kate will be one of two Independent Non-Executive Directors on The FA Board, filling the vacancy created by Dame Heather Rabbatts who stepped down in July.


Kate Tinsley said: “I’m very proud to be offered this role within The Football Association. Having invested significant time in grassroots football, I’m very much looking forward to contributing further to the ongoing progression of the game.”


Greg Clarke, The FA Chairman, said: “We look forward to welcoming Kate on to The Football Association Board subject to Council ratification. Kate has a lifetime of experience in the game with strong knowledge of grassroots football and extensive business credentials.”   


The updated FA Board comprises of the Chairman, three representatives from the professional game, three representatives from the national game, the Chief Executive Officer and two Independent Non-Executive Directors. Subject to Council approval of Kate’s appointment, the members of the Board will be:


– Greg Clarke – Independent Chairman

– Martin Glenn – Chief Executive Officer

– Roger Devlin – Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

– Kate Tinsley – Independent Non-Executive Director

– Robert Cotter – National Game Representative

– Jack Pearce – National Game Representative

– Mervyn Leggett – National Game Representative

– Peter McCormick – Professional Game Representative (Premier League)

– James Rodwell – Professional Game Representative (Football League, Scunthorpe United FC)

– (One professional game representative to be appointed)


In May, The Football Association agreed a new set of corporate governance reforms which will meet and comply with Sport England’s Code for Sports Governance.


As a result, The FA Board has reduced in size from 12 to 10 members, including three female members by 2018 and the introduction of term limits for FA Board membership of 3 x 3 years.