Premier League ESL Breakaway Clubs Acknowledge Mistake

Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham and Arsenal have been fined a combined £22m and reaffirmed their commitment to the English game.



In a joint statement released by the Premier League and The FA, the six clubs made a public acknowledgement that their attempt to form a European Super League was a mistake.


The statement read: “They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA. 


“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22million, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.”


In addition to the fine, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.


Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine. The Premier League and The FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion.